WJMC July 9th, 2013

“Be here now” – Hoda Kotb 

Sometimes the most difficult part about recounting upon such amazing experiences is choosing where to begin. Today will be remembered as one of the most influential days in my life up to this point, by far. I was under the mesmerizing influences of C-Span Executive Chairman Brian Lamb, President Angela Greiling Keane of the National Press Club, Chris Cilizza of the Washington Post, Jonathan Karl of ABC News, April Ryan of American Urban Radio Networks, and of course, Hoda Kotb of the Today show. Little can I say, I was drooling in utter admiration to be within mere feet of these incredibly remarkable individuals who have all established great legacies and provided a meaningful basis to the world of journalism and what it means to be a journalist in this grueling business where rejection becomes a commonality. I was especially inspired by the charming Hoda, who never seemed to miss a beat throughout our hour long or so interview with her. No one else that I have met has successfully been rejected over twenty-seven times in less than a week, driving all over the country searching for job interviews being told that her tape was dreadful, and still manage to continue pushing herself forward until she finally stumbled upon the unlikeliest of places where her future would begin to bloom. Knowing that I will stumble, and possibly fall due to my inheritance of my mother’s lack of equilibrium (teehee), I am encouraged by these speakers to dust off my knees, pull myself together, and move forward with the mindset that I just need to roll with the punches, all while rocking some stylish heels. This is especially prevalent in modern society where the platforms and mediums of social media and journalism are constantly evolving, and it is necessary to be aware of and invested in each of these mediums in hopes of staying relevant and broadcasting the truth to the rest of the world. And that is exactly what I intend to do, spread the truth, observe, listen, and most of all, block out the people who tell me that I am not good enough to make it in this political battlefield dominated by white males, and remember that I am a confident and determined woman! (Thank you Beyonce for allowing me to channel my inner Sasha Fierce). I will end with this: In the words of Hoda Kotb, “Enjoy your time around the sun”. 

About princesscarly95

More than your typical high school student with dreams of one day finding herself sitting in the Oval Office. In the meantime, I enjoy exercising, keeping up on the latest news on CNN, inhaling anything historically related, and divulging in my guilty pleasure of Say Yes to the Dress every Friday. I have an unusual knack for nail painting and an addiction to anything pink, sparkly, or shoe-related. Now if that's not enough for a conversation starter, then feel free to ask me about any of the Presidents, thanks to APUSH, I have them all memorized. Here's to individuality! -Carly Grace

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment